Saint-Pierre and Miquelon, are two small French islands located off the southern coast of the island of Newfoundland.  They lie about fifteen miles to the west of Burin Peninsula.  The rocky islands cover a total area of ninety-three square miles and have a population of about seven thousand people, of which 99% are Roman Catholic.  A general council, made up of nineteen elected members, governs the islands.  An administrator, appointed by the French government, oversees local departments.  The two islands and several islet dependencies make up a political unit of France called a territorial collectivity.  They have no army as the French government will take care of their safety and protection.  The islands were once a base for French fishing operations.  These operations declined in the late 1900 s, but the islands have many summer tourists visiting their territory.  St. Pierre, the capital and largest town, has a good harbor.  The French began settling the islands in the 1600 s.  England controlled them from 1713 to 1763.  After that, England and France traded control of the islands.  In 1816, France gained final possession.*

* Taken from The World Book Encyclopedia. (Chicago: World Book, Inc.), pg.56.


St. Ann and the Young Virgin
Sainte Anne et la Vierge jeune
Date: 10/20/75; Scott: 442
Art: Wood Carving; Sculpture sur bois

Holy Family
La Sainte Famille
Date: 12/10/96; Scott: 486
Artist: J. Balmet-stained glass; Verrierč

La nativite
Date: 12/17/88; Scott: 512
Art: Stained glass; Verrierč

Return to Mary Stamps