Republic of the Congo

Upon independence in 1960, the former French region of Middle Congo became the Republic of the Congo. A quarter century of experimentation with Marxism was abandoned in 1990 and a democratically-elected government took office in 1992. A brief civil war in 1997 restored former Marxist President Denis Sassou-Nguesso, and ushered in a period of ethnic and political unrest. Southern-based rebel groups agreed to a final peace accord in March 2003, but the calm is tenuous and refugees continue to present a humanitarian crisis. The Republic of Congo was once one of Africa's largest petroleum producers, but with declining production it will need new offshore oil finds to sustain its oil earnings over the long term.

CIA—The World Factbook

The Repulic of the Congo began printing their stamps in 1960. Printing of Mary stamps began in 1971.



To view more information about a certain stamp, click on that stamp.
Pour lire les informations sur un timbre, appuyez sur ce timbre.

Christ Carrying the Cross

Christ on the Cross

Descent from the Cross

Christ Laid in the Tomb

Madonna and Saints

Mary, Joseph,
and Five Angels

Adoration of the Shepherds

The Burial

Virgin of the Annunciation

Deposition from the Cross

Christ in Glory

The Virgin and Child
and St. John

The Virgin and Child
Said of St. Barnabas

The Virgin and Child

Holy Family

Madonna and Child

Virgin with Angels

The Virgin and
the Infant Jesus

Adoration of the Magi

Virgin and Child
Return to Mary on Stamps
Retour a Timbres Mariales



This page, maintained by The Marian Library/International Marian Research Institute, Dayton, Ohio 45469-1390, and created by Ann Zlotnik , was last modified Thursday, 09/27/2012 13:31:22 EDT by Ann Zlotnik . Please send any comments to

URL for this page is