Stamps from Angola

Angola is rebuilding its country after the end of a 27-year civil war in 2002. Fighting between the Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola (MPLA), led by Jose Eduardo DOS SANTOS, and the National Union for the Total Independence of Angola (UNITA), led by Jonas SAVIMBI, followed independence from Portugal in 1975. Peace seemed imminent in 1992 when Angola held national elections, but fighting picked up again by 1996. Up to 1.5 million lives may have been lost - and 4 million people displaced - in the quarter century of fighting. SAVIMBI's death in 2002 ended UNITA's insurgency and strengthened the MPLA's hold on power. President DOS SANTOS held legislative elections in September 2008 and, despite promising to hold presidential elections in 2009, has since pushed through a new constitution that calls for elections in 2012.

CIA—The World Factbook

Angola began printing their stamps in 1870. Printing of Mary stamps began in 1948.




To view more information about a certain stamp, click on that stamp.
Pour lire les informations sur un timbre, appuyez sur ce timbre.


Our Lady of Fatima

Our Lady of Fatima

Our Lady of Fatima

Our Lady of Fatima

Our Lady of Fatima - Holy Year - Citation of Pius XII

Arms of Luanda

Arms of Massangano

Arms of Muxima

Arms of Silva Porto

Commerce Building and Arms of Luanda

Fatima Basilica

Our Lady of Hope

Return to Mary on Stamps
Retour a Timbres Mariales



This page, maintained by The Marian Library/International Marian Research Institute, Dayton, Ohio 45469-1390, and created by Sumithra Kulkarni , was last modified Tuesday, 09/25/2012 15:31:58 EDT by Sumithra Kulkanri . Please send any comments to

URL for this page is